Out with the old, in with the new! Part I

After many years of dreaming, posting pictures on Pinterest, scouring the Internet and watching videos, the hubster and I made some big decisions in 2013.  As empty nesters and young 50-somethings, we are moving from the mainland to Kauai, Hawaii sometime in 2014! Scary and BIG, right?! You bet! We have heard every reason for NOT doing it, but the best reason we heard for doing it was “why not?”

With that goal in mind, the first thing to think about is what to take and what to let go of.  Scary and BIG, too!  We are just as guilty as most for accumulating things and when it comes right down to moving it (and we have a few times!), we realized most of it is just stuff.  Yes, there are the special things that won’t be left behind or sold but most everything else has to go live at someone else’s place. It is too costly to move stuff that far! As a quilter, I had to assess my stash of fabric and quilts…won’t really NEED quilts in Hawaii, right?! So I tackled the stash of fabric first.  Here was my closet before I started selling fabric and quilt tops on eBay (and for the record, the before photos of the closet was NOT this neat!).  Now, my stash is not nearly as impressive as a lot of quilters I know, but it was way more than I needed to move once again!

After #4 After #2 After #1

 

As fabric and tops sold, I painfully honestly decided what I quilts I needed to finish to sell and which quilts to part with. It turns out, letting go of this stuff wasn’t so hard…when I had a new goal in mind…the BEACH life! Am I giving up quilting forever? Absolutely NOT! I have a much bigger plan for that so stay tuned as we progress towards that new goal, too!

People have asked me how I can let go of the things I have made.  I remember asking my grandmother, who made and sold quilts, the very same question.  Her reply? “Why not? I can always make more!”

Do you have a plan for “out with the old, in with the new” in 2014?  Share it so we can cheer each other on!

Tracy

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caron Smith
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 17:29:57

    I think it’s great that you’re moving to Hawaii!! Hawaiians had quilts too. They were appliqued and had one big design on the top. They were made to be light weight. I’m a little jealous. I lived in Hawaii many years ago on Oahu. My father was stationed there. I know you will love it!!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. susanhowell322@gmail.com
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 20:09:57

    So proud of you, Tracy! It was so much fun hearing about all of this at retreat! It seems strange that I just met you a little over a month ago, but it was one of those “I feel like I’ve know this person forever” moments! I’m so thankful that we now have avenues like email and Facebook for people to stay in touch! I have a quilting “To Do List” every year…some items are as simple as needing the label or finishing a binding and others are hand appliqued “keepsake” quilts. But, they all have one thing in common – they have been on the To Do List for AT LEAST a year (and some even longer)! With that in mind, I love your idea of cheering each other on!!! Any ideas on how you think this could work best? I look forward to keeping up with your adventure as you move closer to making a dream come true!

    Like

    Reply

    • sbrctag
      Dec 29, 2013 @ 20:31:57

      Thanks Suzi! That’s the best part of retreats…meeting new friends who seem to fill an empty spot we didn’t know we had! Ideas for cheering each other on? Post any effort, accomplishment, prayer request, or even just a need for a kick in the rear, etc. on my blog or FB and I will cheer you on! As our circle of online friends grows, from both near and far, we will rally behind you…and toast you with a glass of wine for crossing off that challenge from your to-do list! (Even though we know for every one thing that comes off the list, 2-200 jump on the list!!) But that’s ok…just like they make more fabric for our stashes, the vineyards keep cranking out that wine, too!!! LOL

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

