Out with the old, in with the new! Part III

Today is the last day of 2013 and the final part to this series of posts! Parts I and II dealt with the old and now let’s get ready for the new! As a quilter, I love learning new techniques, ooohing and aaawing over new fabrics and colors and of course, new patterns! As we start finalizing our resolutions for the new year, I will have some that I think anyone can do…and if you cheer me on, I will reciprocate in kind!

For years, I was a Thimbleberries junkie! I still love those colors and fabrics but over time, my taste has changed.  My homes have changed as well and so those colors just don’t do it for me any more.  I have sold all the fabrics that fell in that theme but I will keep this quilt since a dear friend quilted it as a going away present when we moved from New Mexico.  Ruby, our Golden Retriever, approves!

MileaMinute

When we moved to Oklahoma we still had the sunny beaches of Hawaii in our far off dreams and decided to go with a bright, tropical theme to beat back the wintry gray of winters here.  We painted the walls a neutral sea foam green and used white on all the trim and cabinets.  The furniture became more comfortable with a big cushioned ottoman for bare feet to rest.  Of course, fabrics and quilts changed too!  Here is just a couple that I have made in our new colors! Thanks to my wonderful husband for holding them and credit to his legs if they are shown!

Beachy quilt 2012

DSC03842

That is a complete change in latitude, right?! If I couldn’t get to the beach, then I would try to make our home as beachy feeling as I could!  Maybe you need a change…sometimes a baby step with fabric is all it takes…maybe you just want to try your favorite colors in a more modern design…maybe you want to go out on a limb and design your own pattern…think on it then write it down!  Start your own bucket list…go small or big…but just start!

So as we head into 2014 and with our sites set on Hawaii, this is our version of in with the new!  The skies are looking sunnier and the sand is calling to us.  Where are your dreams taking you in 2014?  If you don’t have a dream, get one!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ewgreenlee
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 15:50:23

    That’s me holding up the quilt in the bottom photo. Why am I not being given credit?!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

