Stash Busting in 2014

This is one of my goals for 2014…seek, divide and conquer the contents of this scrap tub…and the rest that won’t even fit in it!  I asked dear husband to help weigh it…only way to do that was for me to get on the scale alone (yes, that is an unspoken goal to get THAT number down, but that’s for another day!) and then again holding said tub.  The difference? 18 pounds! Good grief! Then add the bagged stash and it is well closer to 25 pounds!! 25 pounds of pure, sweet fabric goodness!! But, it HAS TO GO!!!

2014Scraps (2) 2014Scraps 2014Scraps (1)

 

I put out the word on Facebook to my near and far, new and not so new quilting friends for stash busting quilt ideas.  I got a few and found some of my own.  So if you want to be challenged as well to clear out your own beast of a tub full of scrappy love, here are a few ideas to help you on your way!

Open Hex IvyBagnall quilt MileaMinuteCPQG 2012 Donation Quilt

 

I found a lot of ideas through Pinterest and posted some to my boards here: http://www.pinterest.com/beachtag/quilts-make-me-happy/ and here: http://www.pinterest.com/beachtag/quilt-patterns/

An oft repeated suggestion was to go to Bonnie Hunter’s site, Quiltville.  She is undoubtedly the queen of scrap quilts and I greatly admire how much she can get finished! Here is her link for a ton of FREE patterns!  Thanks, Bonnie!  http://quiltville.blogspot.com/p/free-patterns.html

I have a couple of patterns I am considering, but I am really liking this paper-pieced one to start with from one of my favorite blogs ! Thanks Christa! http://christaquiltsblog.com/2013/01/31/do-you-dare-to-dresden-free-paper-pieced-pattern/

I am up for the challenge of de-cluttering and stash busting in 2014…how about you!  Let’s encourage each other along the way!

Disclaimer: If you start looking for quilt patterns, you will get PLENTY! You will lose many precious minutes hours of sewing time so step away from the computer, face that scrap heap square on and dive in! There are only 363 days left until next year’s goals have to be started!

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stitchinstein
    Jan 29, 2014 @ 19:15:56

    Love this! I tried doing this to my bins in 2013, however, 1 crumb quilt, 1 string quilt and 1 16 patch quilt later those darn bins multiplied!!!

    Like

    Reply

    • sbrctag
      Jan 30, 2014 @ 22:19:54

      Thanks for sharing your stash busting success…and continued dilemma with breeding bins! Yes, scraps seem to make more…but we must not let them take over! Keep that sewing machine humming!! LOL

      Like

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Tanglewood Retreat 2014 | The Beachy Quilter
  3. Trackback: Can we start the count-down soon?! Maybe! | The Beachy Quilter

Leave a Reply

