Good friends, good food & good game!

Last night was the 2014 Sugar Bowl with the OU Sooners facing off Alabama Crimson Tide and we invited our like-minded friends and former Maui residents, Bob and Angela to come over and watch the last game of the season. They are big OU fans like us and we were celebrating the Sooners getting to the bowl game but also Bob is less than 4 weeks into recuperating from double bi-pass heart surgery! He is doing remarkable and we were thrilled when we issued the invite to come over he was more than ready to get out of the house! With the Sooners underdog WIN, we believe these are all good reasons to start the new year celebrating! Oh, and we were just going to have light snacks since the game was played late, but the Aloha spirit doesn’t do “light” apparently! Angela brought awesome appetizers  in her beachy serving dishes, dog treats and a tennis ball for Ruby, our Golden Retriever, AND hostess gifts for us! We are so blessed to have them in our life and know they will help us learn that pupu (yep, say “poopoo” in Hawaiian and that means food –  in a good way!) is a bit more than a small veggie and fruit tray and some cheese chunks and crackers!

We enjoyed the game and their company until after midnight, so we treated ourselves to a belated New Year’s Eve celebration! So that’s why we are moving a bit slower this morning thus the lateness of this blog.  That’s the story and I’m sticking to it!

I did want to share with you some success in stash busting so far.  No, I haven’t squared off with that plastic tub in the closet but at least I won’t be adding to it with these latest accomplishments…well, at least not very much! Ahem!

I finished these two quilts at the end of December but I wanted to show you how I used up the left overs.  The first photo is  the quilt I intentionally made and the second is from the left overs!  The patterns are from Quilters World April, 2012.  The first is “Quite Contrary” designed by Beth Helfter and interestingly found under the Stash Management tab!  The second is inspired by “Flower Beds” designed by Julia Dunn. I tweeked the size of the blocks to use the fabric I had left to work with.  I originally thought I would use the scraps for the backing of the first quilt but it became a top as it grew!

DSC03842BeachLifeII Dec2013

I also made a quilt in December for my daughter that a woman admired and asked if I would make her a similar one. So with the leftovers and additional batiks in my stash I made her this one (Photo taken before blocks sewn together and still to be quilted) and with the scraps from both, I made the second top (still in progress – not enough scraps for the purple border).  I used the Zen pattern like my daughter’s quilt and “Urban Cabin” for the scrappy top (yes, I know those blocks don’t match the pattern, but I’ll talk about that later…my marathon sewing got the best of me!)  BUT, you get the idea! Use up those leftovers so your own scrap heap doesn’t become a scrap mountain!

ConnieLunaQuiltDSC03858

So now I am off and running to make pieced backs to use up the remaining fabrics (yes, those scraps make more scraps…you all know what I mean!!) I will post final pics when finished.

Besides, there is still some leftovers of the pupu from last night to deal with! Yummy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth at Quilting Hottie Haven
    Feb 12, 2016 @ 04:43:59

    Ok, so CLEARLY I have to google myself more often….I just found this while looking for something else and OH MY GOODNESS I LOVE IT! Great great job on the Quite Contrary! Thank you for making my morning complete, two years later. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Tracy
      Feb 13, 2016 @ 14:56:38

      I am so glad Mr. Google was helpful, even 2 yrs. later! I loved making that quilt and have kept the pattern to make another for my Hawaii home! Thanks for popping in for a visit and I hope you check back again…don’t wait so long, ok?! 😉

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

