Hello March! You still look like February!

Yet another round of bitter cold yesterday and today in Norman, OK, USA! Yesterday, we endured wind, sleet and a bit of snow first thing in the a.m. and, with the skies still gray and gloomy, the afternoon brought thunder, lightening and sleet! Temperature this morning…5 degrees…high today?…maybe 22 degrees.  Schools and most businesses closed due to icy road conditions and frigid temps!

Come on, March…you are going to have to try harder than that!  At least you brought some sunshine today so the dog can at least go outside for a while!

Our Golden Retriever, Ruby,  a bit happier with some sunshine!

Our Golden Retriever, Ruby, a bit happier with some sunshine!

With the chill still on outside, you know what I’ve been up to, right?! I wanted to do some power sewing! I bought a ton some fabrics at Hancock’s of Paducah in 2010 and made these two quilts in 2012 (both are approx. 44″ x 55″)…the pattern is “Bobby Dazzler” (c) 2007 by Mary Hubka for Pressed for Time Quiltworks and you can get it here

Beachy Stars 2012

Beachy Stars 2012

Beachy Stars 2012

Beachy Stars 2012

I coordinated two teal fabrics from my stash with these fabrics:

Sea fan fabrics are “Beachcomber” by Barb Tourtillotte for Clothworks (OOP)

Sea shell beach postcards is “Tranquil Moments” by Wilmington Prints

Gold fabric is “America the Beautiful” by Clothworks (OOP)

Ombre Sea Spray is “Memoir’s of a Geisha” by Mizuki for Benartex

With the leftovers, I made this using the pattern I mentioned in a previous blog post (you can go back to it here)…

DSC04173

 

…and today finished this…they both measure approx. 52″ x 65″…

Do you think I have used all of this fabric yet?!

Do you think I have used all of this fabric yet?!

Nope, there is still more! Lesson learned? Don’t buy all the sale fabric you find even if your friend talks you into it!! But, but…if I had not bought it all, then every quilter knows, I would have run out of something and my super, great quilt-to-be would have ended up in the UFO pile! Instead, I have four quilts – 2 quilted, bound AND with coordinating fabric on the back…and still counting! 😉

So the scrap stash is reduced a bit further and I still have a l-o-n-g way to go but I will not be deterred in my endeavor! For now, I am putting these lovelies aside to work on some more brights.

As March blows in with all it’s cold might, I will keep my little Husqvarna Viking DSM humming along and will bust some more stash. Maybe a few more “snow days” won’t be such a bad thing!

Happy sewing!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lindsey
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 04:47:21

    Hi Tracy! I just wanted to stop by and let you know I just love your version of Love Squared! You did a fabulous job on it and I love the fabric choice! 🙂

    -Lindsey Weight

    Like

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Resolutions of 2014 Review-How did I do? | The Beachy Quilter

Leave a Reply

