Happy Apple Quilt Shop

For our Mother/Daughter trip to Florida, I made the sneaky smart decision to scope out quilt shops in and around the Tampa area! I had a copy of a shop hop route that so helpfully listed the participating shops with directions to their cheery front doors!

One such shop I had found on a previous panic search for more of a particular batik fabric was on the list! I asked my daughter nicely if we could visit at least one quilt shop on our excursion and she obliged. Happy Apple Quilt Shop in Palm Harbor, FL happened to be the one closest to her plan for our day and off we went…what better place to visit on a rainy, gray day?!

The shop was colorful, neatly arranged and the staff was just as nice and happy as the shop name implied! We were welcomed in from the rain and asked where we were from. After our introductions, I explained I had placed an online order and asked one of the owners (Karen) if I could mention the shop in my blog. She graciously agreed and we were allowed to wander the shop in the quiet bliss of having it nearly all to ourselves while snapping a few pictures.

Side note: they send you a FREE fat quarter with an online order over $30! Oh yes, they do…I got mine!! 🙂

HappyAppleQuilts Florida

DSC04303

DSC04302

I asked which fabrics they offered if they were asked for something that said “Florida” and here is what they proudly showed us.

DSC04307

Of course, you know this coral and turquoise group called out to me! But, I showed great restraint and did not buy one fat quarter of it! 🙂

DSC04305

Ahh, flip flops, sandy beaches and sailboats!

DSC04306

Fishes, sea turtles and waves…yes, I touched and petted them all for you! 😉

I spied two finished quilts that I knew would find their way onto my list of To-Do. This one with Kaffe Fassett lovelies reminded me of what I must get finished when I got back home. You can see more of what they had in the shop here.

DSC04304

This one is just so happy and wonky I have to make it…the staff couldn’t find the pattern the day we visited (they were recovering from a quilt show a few days past) but assured me they would find it…and they did! Ahem, I ordered it when I got back home!

DSC04301

It’s called Helter Skelter by Abbey Lane Quilts and you can find it here. The ladies in the shop selected the fabrics from different makers but it looks completely coordinated in all its scrappiness! I love it and can’t wait to start the hunt for some similar fabrics! Beachy happiness!!

*Sigh*…a fun, happy quilt shop in a sunny, paradise location…what could be a better place to spend a rainy day if you can’t get to the beach, right?!

Thank you Karen and your wonderful staff for this vacation memory!

Leave a Reply

