One quilt shop…check!

Happy Tuesday! I hope you are having a gorgeous spring this week! Weather here in Norman, OK turned a bit more spring like with chilly mornings sliding into warm afternoons. I have tackled the weeds in the back yard flower bed the last couple of days (I plan to pull, snatch, and rip out enough of those repeat offenders to fill up at least 2 Homer buckets a day so hopefully the worst will be over by the end of this week!)

The iris’ are just about played out but the daylilly’s are pouring it on and will be popping out soon! Their show will pale in comparison to what we saw in Hawaii but we do all right with watering and dead-heading!

Speaking of Hawaii, I promised you a peek inside a quilt shop I was happy to discover on Kauai! I had heard of the shop with this brief news article my husband so sweetly shared with me!

Vicky’s Fabric is owned by Vicky Masuoka who is an accomplished seamstress and has been in business more than 30 years. Her daughter, Maile Bloxsom returned home to Kapa’a with her family after living in Los Angeles to help with the shop. Starting out with fabrics for clothing and home decor, the shop has added gorgeous quilting fabric including batiks.

Notions galore!

Patterns…

...and more patterns!

…and more patterns!

Panels, jelly rolls and more!

More fabric lovelies!

Batiks anyone? Oh, yes please!!

Batiks anyone? Oh, yes please!!

Yes, I tried to pet them all!

Here is Vicky's eye candy of bark cloth! Oh the possibilities!

Here is Vicky’s eye candy of bark cloth! Oh the possibilities!

Vicky loves to make tote bags with beautiful floral fabrics like this!

Vicky loves to make tote bags with beautiful floral fabrics like this!

Of course, when I looked up…well…this is just a small sampling of what was hanging around the shop!

Vicki14 Vicki13 Vicki12 Vicki11

I chatted with Maile and Vicky for nearly an hour – those who know me, know that is nothing out of the ordinary! They were gracious hostesses and their shop is wonderful. I can’t thank them enough for letting me snap these pictures and ask all my many questions about quilting…in general, on Kauai, on the other islands, about quilt guilds…well, you get the idea!

This checked another box for our future move to Kauai. I can always order fabric over the Internet, but I prefer a local quilt shop for convenience, supporting fellow entrepreneurs and satisfying that need to see and feel fabrics or patterns up close.

I look forward to being a part of this quilting ohana!

Note: I intended to take a picture of the shop but the morning sun was behind the shop so the glare was awful. I kept meaning to get back to it but didn’t…sorry, folks! If you visit historic Kapa’a  Town, it’s easy to find…just look for the green shop with quilts in the windows between The House of Noodles and the shops in the Maytag building on Kuhio Highway!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Two quilt shops…check! | The Beachy Quilter
  2. Trackback: Making friends in a new town! | The Beachy Quilter

Leave a Reply

