Quilt Event Part 1

Yesterday I mentioned our trip to New Mexico and how I squeezed in not one, but two quilt events! It didn’t start out that way…sometimes things just work out!

The Southern New Mexico Festival of Quilts in Alamogordo, NM was on the wish list for 2014 and it conveniently just so happened to fall during a week in June that would work for the trip to clean out the storage unit. I’ll talk to you more about that tomorrow.

My treat for all the hard work cleaning out the storage unit earlier in the week was to go to the Festival on Friday, but…then my mom informed me of a quilt exhibit on display at the Hubbard Museum of the American West in Ruidoso Downs, NM. Cool!! I knew I would have the entire day to myself so I could pop in there before heading to the Festival!

“Beyond Tradition” by the Studio Art Quilt Associates of New Mexico (SAQA) includes the banner artworks of “Enchanted Threads/A Walk in the Wild” which had been on display at the City of Albuquerque Open Space Visitor Center in the winter of 2012.

A Walk in the Wild banners

A Walk in the Wild banners

A-Maizing by Nora Bebee

A-Maizing by Nora Bebee

Close up of A-Maizing-dimensional beading & tassels

Close up of A-Maizing-dimensional beading & tassels

 

S is For...#3 by Shannon Conley (Note this one is reversible!)

S is For…#3 by Shannon Conley (Note this one is reversible!)

S is for...#4 by Shannon Conley

S is for…#4 by Shannon Conley

The 18 banners were included with the exhibit “A Color Runs Through It”. The challenge for the artists was open to all the SAQA members. The works are 18 inches by 24 inches in either vertical or horizontal orientation. They were challended to use black and/or white and any tint/shade of gray in between, plus any number of tints/shades of one color. The pieces are stunning and I took a few photos to share with you.

DSC04622 DSC04621 DSC04626 DSC04625 DSC04624 DSC04619

These are a few I really admired from the “Beyond Traditional” entries…they remind me of our days living in New Mexico. We could enjoy Sierra Blanca from our deck every day and have fond memories of exploring pueblos and the ancient petroglyphs at Three Rivers near Tularosa, NM.

 

DSC04643 DSC04642 DSC04639

And, of course, I was happy to see some that appeal to my beachy side!!

DSC04638

 

DSC04636

DSC04637

What made this exhibit even more special was enjoying it with my quilting friend, Rita Galaska. She is a national award winning quilter and pattern designer. (I know some pretty cool people!! In fact, one of her quilting endeavors won a Viewer’s Choice Blue ribbon at the event I will share tomorrow!!)

We had a great time looking at all of these pieces. Even though some were not to our taste, be both can appreciate the artists’ time and efforts in creating each one.

Should you find your way to New Mexico, the fiber arts and quilting community is vibrant and exciting. I hope you check it out! 🙂

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joni
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 22:44:23

    I can imagine what it felt like to walk among and through those hanging banners! such colors and designs….

    Like

    Reply

    • sbrctag
      Jun 26, 2014 @ 23:21:13

      Aren’t they wonderful, Joni? My photography did NOT do them justice! I always enjoy seeing the creations of such talented artists. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

      Reply

  2. nsturgill
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 03:24:35

    Thank you for sharing … They are beautiful!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

