Happy Halloween!

Tricks or Treats!? Being in a new place on Halloween is interesting. There are a few children in this older neighborhood in Edmond but the next door neighbor says there aren’t too many Trick or Treaters anymore…most of the kids go to church activities or school parties these days, but she thinks we will have a few ghosts, goblins or Frozen sisters ring the doorbell tonight! I hope so…I always looked forward to Halloween as a kid, teenager giving out the candy and, of course, as a parent.

It has finally turned cooler…it usually does in Oklahoma and Texas just in time for Halloween…so I stayed in and got a few things accomplished!

I have one more scrappy top finished!! I really am trying to work on my goal from earlier this year that I mentioned here. Remember this start…?

DSC04024

Well, I finished it this week!

DSC04934

Using up the batik scraps from other projects and a sandy batik for the background made a top fit for the tropics!

Earlier in the summer, I met with a friend at her house to help her with a block swap. She had used the Tri-Rec(TM) rulers before but it had been a while and she just needed a little confidence to jump in and make those cuts. Well, I thought…I have some stash to use up (stash-busting goal) and I have those rulers (love me some stars so gotta HAVE those rulers, ya know?!) but have never used them (just have a gazillion other things a bit more urgent to deal with!) so a joint attempt was just the thing. Can you say “I Spy a gorgeous Hibiscus” ?!?!

DSC04936

We got through the test runs and I left her to finish her assignment of 11 blocks for her swap. Since I finished the scrappy top, it was time to get back to this project. She has L-O-N-G since finished HER blocks…ahem!

DSC04937

DSC04938

I got my fabrics cut to make 12 blocks (I may make more, but for now the goal was met!) I should have plenty of the blue fabric (Timeless Treasures Pattern #WRAIN-1373) to make a border and maaaaybe enough of the cream to frame the blocks (it’s OLD…Rambling Favorites 2005!!) I made a test block and I am quite happy with it!

DSC04935

You may not be able to tell from the photos, but there is a neon orange sprinkled in the flower petals so I MIGHT just have to find a tiny bit of that to make an inner border. THAT would make this thing really POP!!

This will keep me busy for the weekend or so. Our daughter will be moving out over the weekend and that will be bittersweet. She actually blogged about it here…(spoiler alert!) she made me tear up just a bit. I love her to pieces!! She is dating a great man and they have their whole lives ahead of them…more on that later…gotta go get a tissue!

Better yet…I think I need some chocolate…and I know where the candy is hidden!! 😉

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Well, hello November! Brr! | The Beachy Quilter
  2. Trackback: Hello, May! | The Beachy Quilter

Leave a Reply

