Stars on Point

Good Friday to you all! I got the hibiscus star quilt top DONE!

I posted a picture on Facebook within the Just Us Quilters group and 200+ members gave me a resounding “put those stars on point” and I couldn’t agree more! They really seem to twinkle in this arrangement!

I made one more star to make this setting. BUT…by putting the blocks on point meant side and corner triangles were needed in the background fabric. Yea, you know it…I didn’t have enough for that! I had another tone on tone ecru that was forced into service (using up what I have, remember!?)

DSC04950

Stars on point…rows coming together nicely!

Then a quick trip to my closest quilt shop, Sooner Quilts which I mentioned here last week, for some orange to break up some of the blue and add some POP!!

DSC04957

Bottom corner…

This is “Suds” in Orange Crush (which I love! I haven’t had one of those in forever!) by Patrick Lose Studios for RJR Fabrics (and guess what? it comes in a bunch of colors, too!!) I like how it mimics some of the bubbles in the background of the hibiscus fabric.

Now to get the backing for this and it’s ready to be quilted! I can also check off two more spools of thread used up! That was a goal for 2014 I mentioned here.

Another spool of thread used up!

Just enough of this spool of thread for the inner border!

So another week has come and gone…can you believe the first week of November is over!?! I am happy with the productive days to keep me busy until our move. AND…

We sold the other Yukon XL!! We hand it to its new owner tomorrow…as they hand us a nice big fat check!!! Whoohoo! A bit more for the Moving to Hawaii fund!! We are still looking for a place to rent…but, we just keep on keeping on…one day at a time…one thing checked off the list at a time!

Thanks for stopping by…have a great weekend!! πŸ™‚

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cagreenlee7
    Nov 07, 2014 @ 21:54:44

    Very Pretty! I love the orange inner border to break up the blues and greens. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  2. sbrctag
    Nov 10, 2014 @ 17:00:28

    Thanks sweetie! Won’t it look great in Hawaii?!! πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

  3. Patrick
    Jan 12, 2015 @ 17:03:36

    NICE! Thanks for using Suds in your quilt. It looks great and sets of the stars perfectly πŸ™‚ Cheers! Patrick

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Let’s Write a Pattern! | The Beachy Quilter
  5. Trackback: Let’s Write a Pattern Part. 3 | The Beachy Quilter

Leave a Reply

