When the scraps don’t seem to dwindle…

Yesterday was set aside for taking care of some domestic diva stuff…as well as some personal “maintenance!…annual eye doctor appointment, haircut and color, laundry and such.

Eye doctor says very little change in prescription (YES!…getting older means readers…but mine are VERY low power!) Haircut and color (keeping that pesky gray at bay so the eye doctor will repeat on my next visit, “I never would have guessed you are 52!) Moving to a humid environment means a low maintenance style so I have gone back to a tried and true, classic style for me…side parted bob! This morning, it took less than 15 minutes to dry and style…lovin’ that!

This a.m., Ruby the Golden diva got her bath and nails trimmed. She smells so much better! Here in Oklahoma, we are all suffering from allergies and she is no exception! An itchy dog is not a happy dog!

The plan for this afternoon, is to get back to using up the scraps from previous projects. Here is the progress on the scrappy, paper-pieced stars…I mentioned the start of them here.

65 halves...2 test stars completed...and I STILL have scraps!

65 halves…2 completed stars…STILL have scraps!

The scraps don’t seem to be dwindling (just HOW many quilts can I make with all these beachy blues and greens!?), so I am going to use them up in my fastest, favorite way…Mile-A-Minute blocks…

About midway through block assembly!

About midway through block assembly!

This is an easy way to use up odd sizes of scraps…log cabin style…with no real plan…just power sewing! It’s a nice break from the paper-piecing as well!

Here is one I made a few years back…they really turn out nicely! This one was made with Thimbleberry scraps and I had enough to make 2 of them – jeez!! I gifted one of them to my sister-in-law. Ruby the Golden makes a lovely model…right?!

Thimbleberry Mile-A-Minute scrappy-goodness!

I’m off to get some lunch, then hopefully get that little Viking DSM humming!

Have a great day and let me hear what you are working on!

Do not stop

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. janet lucas
    Jan 06, 2015 @ 20:24:32

    tracy, so on your mile a minute… you just start adding random sizes of strips to make a log cabin like block? do you size them up when you are finished or do you have a size in mind when you start?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • sbrctag
      Jan 06, 2015 @ 22:00:14

      Yep! That’s all there is to it…start as big or little as you like for the center and keep adding the logs to fit the next side. I only trim one side at a time. Once the block is the desired size, I trim to square the entire thing. I will post some more pics on the blog in the next day or so. I would think 6″ finished would be the smallest. Mine are usually 8-9″ finished…the goal being to use up lots of scraps so bigger works for me. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

      Reply

  2. stitchinstein
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 20:06:18

    I love the mile a minute blocks! Great for just zoning out at the machine! I know what you mean about these scraps just keep on coming!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • sbrctag
      Jan 07, 2015 @ 21:25:29

      It IS a great block for zoning out! I like my chaotic scrap quilts to at least be somewhat controlled (maybe I am just a little OCD! Ha!) but for the most part the only thing I watch for is the same fabric on two of the four sides – I don’t want that! But, it can create more scraps, albeit small ones, so quilter beware of this technique. For me, when I have already made at least 2 quilts from the scraps, I don’t fret about throwing away (gasp!) those little 2″ or less pieces. By now, I am ready to be done with that fabric so I can start something new…yep, and make more scraps!! Nice to meet ya…I hope you stop by again!!

      Like

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Going a Mile a Minute… | The Beachy Quilter

Leave a Reply

