How I keep it in order…row by row!

As I continue making progress on the scrap Mile-a-Minute, I am ready to start putting the sashing between the blocks. I am going to continue with the scrap theme and use up some white-on-white polka dot fabrics I have left over from quilt backs and stash-building of the past. I have cut 2-1/2″ strips from these and then cut again to 8-3/4″ for the side sashes.

White polka dot scraps from various projects...

White polka dot scraps from various projects…

Today, I am going to share my tip for keeping it all in order. I tried the flower head pins with numbers but I kept poking myself! Ouch! I like this idea better…I just copied someone else’s idea…don’t think I came up with this all by myself! (Side note: I made a set for my quilting friend, Pam…she loved it! It just might be a possible gift idea for future reference!) 😉

I purchased some numbered beads from a craft store (Michael’s, JoAnn’s, of maybe Hobby Lobby…not sure now…I have had these a long time!) I slipped a numbered bead onto some safety pins. The beads are numbered 0-9. If I have more than 9 rows, I easily slip two beads to go on into those double digits! My pins measure 1-inch…you can use whatever size you like!

Inexpensive way to keep blocks in the correct row...

Inexpensive way to keep blocks in the correct row…

Once I have the blocks in the arrangement I want, then starting from the left, I stack the blocks by row and attach the corresponding number to the top block…

Each stack has a number noting the row it belongs with in left to right, top to bottom order...makes sense?!

Each stack has a number noting the row it belongs with in left to right, top to bottom order…makes sense?!

Then I stack them by alternating the corner…

Now I have a nice little pile of blocks in order so I can chain piece!

Now I have a nice little pile of blocks in order so I can chain piece!

Chain piecing the side sashing...

Chain piecing the side sashing…

I only sew one row (stack) at a time at this point. My design wall is in another room so I don’t want to get too far ahead of myself or make a few hundred trips back and forth! Today I only got through 2 rows…these may be hard to see since my design wall is two pieces of white flannel…

Blocks with side sashing waiting to be sewn in a complete row!!

Blocks with side sashing waiting to be sewn in a complete row!!

Close up of rows #1 and 2

Close up of rows #1 and 2 – can you see the number pins on the left blocks?!

That’s it…very easy, reusable and inexpensive! When I am finished with them, I keep them in a recycled lidded container in my tool kit. I hope my tip helps you keep your units in order.

Let me know if this numbering system works for you or if you have a great tip for keeping your projects in order!

Have a great Monday!

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stitchinstein
    Jan 13, 2015 @ 18:34:10

    That is such a great idea! I’ve not seen those numbered beads before!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • sbrctag
      Jan 13, 2015 @ 20:37:03

      Thanks! Look for the beads @ Michael’s, Hobby Lobby, etc. in the section for making bracelets or key chains. I posted this tip on the “Just Us Quilter” FB group and it got over 550 “Likes” and 200+ comments. There might be a run on beads in the next few days! LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Hey, February, Are You Done Yet?! | The Beachy Quilter
  3. Trackback: 2015 in review | The Beachy Quilter

Leave a Reply

