Snow, snow…go away! Come on Spring!

I have kept busy the last few days with snow and ice outside, inside has been about the only choice (except when Miss Ruby pouted for a walk!)

I finished the top with the scrappy stars.  I wanted something less traditional than stars marching in even rows or create something bigger for the stars to border. I randomly rotated the stars so the points have a tumbling movement. I like this scattered affect and I think I will call it “Freefalling”…

Paper pieced scrappy stars

“Freefalling” measures 61 x 74″

I want the quilting to mimic shooting stars so I am envisioning random curved lines. Not sure when that will happen but I feel good about it being a finished top! I will use up (finally!) the last of the purple batik for the binding to frame it out nicely!

We are still waiting for an appraiser for the house in Kauai (apparently they are scarce) and the mortgage lender has initiated a “rush” to make it happen. On an island, I am not sure how much that will help! Then she gave us a gut check with an unexpected request (and was even so helpful with two options) to ensure we qualify! What!? We jumped through hoops in November to PRE-qualify?!?!

After much thought, a few tears and a bottle of wine, Eddie has come up with a strategy as long as the appraisal does not come in below the selling price. We agreed to a 7-day extension for closing to get the appraisal done so at least, for now, we have a closing date of March 27. I should be thrilled but, remember, we were hoping to be on island by the first of the year. Once again, we wait…

So back to the stash I go…I needed something to occupy my mind rather than “It really is hard ‘Buying Hawaii'”! I dug through my patterns for something easy yet bright and cheery. I found these fat quarters in the stash and jumped in. The pattern I selected is “Tumbling Blocks” by It’s Sew Emma.

Kid quilt

Something bright and cheery on a cold, snowy day!

I had just enough “Ramblings” by P & B Textiles in the stash for the background.

Plenty of tone-on-tone white for this one!

Plenty of tone-on-tone white for this one!

I think this will make a very cute kid’s quilt, don’t you?!

"Tumbling Blocks" measures 46 x 54"

“Tumbling Blocks” measures 46 x 54″

This colorful top worked up super fast so I went stash-diving for something else to work on. I have a fat quarter bundle of “Stonehenge” that you can browse here (yep, from 2010-ish!!) that I want to use and I hope to have just enough off-white/taupe batik for the background (fingers crossed).

Northcott Stone Roll #RSTONE MC-3

Northcott Stone Roll #RSTONE MC-3 Caribbean/Mojave

I managed to get the pieces cut yesterday so today I can keep that little sewing machine humming!

Have a great day! The snow is melting, the temperature is slowly warming and the wedding is now a mere 4 days away! Stay tuned!

Just wait

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stitchinstein
    Mar 04, 2015 @ 16:11:13

    Love the star quilt. I sure hope you get what you want in Hawaii. I lived there as a child for 3 years and have been back many times. I’m sure it will all work out! Love the stash diving!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • sbrctag
      Mar 04, 2015 @ 22:00:53

      Thanks so much for popping in! Stash diving is fun…stretches my brain to use what I have on hand work to make what I see in my mind! I hope you get to go back to Hawaii many more times!

      Like

      Reply

  2. Trackback: March Madness | The Beachy Quilter

Leave a Reply

