Birthday Blessings!

A year ago, I could only dream of spending my birthday on a beach…somewhere…and I hoped for Kauai! Fast forward to 2015, and my dream came true!

Yesterday, I actually got my toes in the sand on TWO beaches on Kauai!!

Mr. G is a CPA and Realtor…he is waiting for his licenses to transfer…and he has joined Oceanfront Realty International. The weekly sales meeting yesterday included a walk-thru of a new listing. I was invited to tag along.

Since the property is across the road from Anini Beach, that was close enough for me to get my toes sandy as well imagine what it would be like to have such easy access every single day! The property has been in the same family for well over 150 years…originally given by King Kamehameha I. The home is modest but the location was pretty awesome! Oh, the possibilities!

This would not be hard to look at every day, right?!

This would not be hard to look at every day, right?!

I got a phone call from my quilting friend, Pam and my mother. We chatted with our kids, which is always a nice birthday gift for a mom! I briefly saw grandson on Skype but he was more interested in his dinner and Toy Story DVD! It’s hard to get a 2-1/2 year old to sit still for much else, right?!

For my birthday dinner, Mr. G took me to Brennecke’s Beach Broiler in Poipu.

Brennecke's on Poipu Beach

Brennecke’s on Poipu Beach

Our table, as did most, had an ocean view. We barely made the happy hour and chose their famous Mai Tai and a margarita! Fresh Ono with shrimp for Mr. G and Ahi fish tacos for me! So good!!

Happy hour! Happy Birthday!

Happy hour! Happy Birthday!

After dinner, we walked across the road to Poipu Beach and stretched out to enjoy a bit of sand as sunset approached! Perfect! It has been voted one of the best beaches by the Travel Channel and rightly so! Last week we saw Hawaiian green sea turtles and a resting Hawaiian monk seal at this beach.

Toes in the sand...for the second time!

Toes in the sand…for the second time! Um…yea, we gotta work on our tans!

We then took a short stroll through Poipu Shopping Village and decided on Papalani Gelato for dessert! For me, Poipu Pie Gelato…with extra macadamia nuts on top…yummmmmm!!!

It was a lovely day…and it promises to be a fantastic year!

Aloha!

Leave a Reply

