Make a Zippered Pouch-CHECK!

Admission of this quilter…”I have never sewn a zipper into anything!”

Yep, and I am not alone! My neighbor and quilt shop owner admitted the same thing! We both high-fived when I shared this information with her! Yet, her mother can practically sew them into anything! The bags and pillows she makes are A-mazing!

I purchased the Row by Row experience fabric license plate from Vicky’s Fabrics here in Kauai. I will most likely not make it to any of the other participating shops in Hawaii (at least not THIS year!) so I had no special plans for the fabric plate other than perhaps a label on my next project. Then I noticed Vicky had made some zippered pouches with the license plate that I thought were very nice and who can’t use another zippered bag for small things?

I purchased a 7″ zipper then watched a tutorial from Missouri Star Quilt Company (is there anything Jenny can’t do?!)

I was given some upholstery samples from our new favorite furniture store (sadly, not too many cotton samples in this bag) that I used to practice with until I get the hang of the zipper! I’m thinking these will be better used in place mats, mug rugs, coasters, etc. More on that later!

Upholstery fabric samples

Upholstery fabric samples…who can say “No thanks!” to free stuff?!

This fabric is bit heavy for this project, but learning on it cost me only the zipper…can you say “nearly free pouch”!! Whoohoo!

And here it is…it only took about an hour and a half to assemble after I watched the video a couple of times.

Zipper

My first zippered pouch!

It is a bit wonky…the “quilting” is only to keep the two fabrics together (Jenny did a much nicer job with her project but she has made several!)…and the zipper ends are not quite right (since I didn’t do that like Jenny! i need to pay more attention to details!) …BUT…for my first one out of the gate, unsupervised mind you, I thought it wasn’t too bad! It will hold my cell phone, sunglasses and keys for a quick trip into town or my cosmetics when traveling or maybe some sewing notions for a sit ‘n sew…oh, the possibilities!

Not a bad zipper installation if I do say so myself!

Not a bad zipper installation if I do say so myself!

I assure you that zipper isn’t going to come undone, ever!…it is even top stitched, just like Jenny said to do!

Boxy bottom

Boxy bottom

Yea, I know the “quilting” doesn’t line up…again, I was just winging it and I didn’t use batting or multiple fabrics to create straighter sewing lines. The next one will be much better!

Inside is even lined! Ignore those raw edges and strings!

The inside is even lined! Ignore those raw edges and strings! I will get it much neater next time!

So now I think I deserve a reward…for bravery in the line of duty installing my first zipper…for actually finishing it in less than a day…for frugal materials – free fabric and a $2.50 zipper…and for impressing Mr. G – he didn’t think I could do it! Silly man! Notice HE opened the bag incorrectly…*sigh* smh

Oreos

Oreo Thins and a glass of cold milk! Ah, hard to beat that!

For my next amazing feat, I will make a little zippered bag with my Hawaii license plate fabric and some gorgeous hibiscus fabric!

What are going to try next? Don’t be afraid…just jump in with both feet and reap the rewards of a finished project, a new learned skill and chocolate cookies (or whatever!) If I can do, so can you! Just do it!

Aloha!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cagreenlee7
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 16:44:13

    Haha you finally got tired of waiting for me to make you a bag, huh?? It looks great and I actually love the fabric you used! Good job and don’t let dad think you can’t do something! 😄👏

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. stitchinggrandma
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 17:36:54

    Impressive!!! I am scared to death of zippers. I bought a bunch for making bags not to long ago, and have still not gotten past the fear factor. Going to watch that video again and bookmark it for “future planning”.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • sbrctag
      Jul 21, 2015 @ 10:16:06

      Thanks! I was kinda nervous too, but zippers are in just about everything so, really, how hard can it be?! Watch that video, get some scraps and a cheapo zipper and play around with it! I didn’t do mine “technically” like Jenny said but it worked! You can do it!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. thecraftymummyblog
    Jul 21, 2015 @ 08:29:44

    love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Top Ten Tuesday {Pouches} | The Beachy Quilter

Leave a Reply

