Goodbye July…hello August!

Good Thursday afternoon from Kauai!

Lest you think I’ve either sunk like a stone in the ocean or perhaps blown away in a near-miss tropical storm, I have been busy during these unusually warm days here! The humidity and lack of trade winds has been challenging (remember-most homes on Kauai have no air conditioning, just all the windows wide open!) but I have managed to stay busy on a few things.

First, the Row by Row Experience is well underway around the states (I love seeing what others have accomplished via Facebook!) and I stumbled my way through using Steam-a-Seam 2 and cuff wiggan fusibles! It is ready for applique stitching and quilting!

Row by Row 2015

Row by Row from Vicky’s Fabrics in Kapaa

By the way, the Hawaiian word for turtle is “Honu” (hoe-noo)

I also made another zippered pouch…

DSC05299

DSC05300

The zipper part still isn’t quite what I like, so more testing to do. But this one did turn out pretty nice!

Earlier in the summer, was asked to make this quilt…

Summer color

“Lucky” A Thimble Blossoms pattern by Camille Roskelley

The link for the pattern is here. Here is her blog as well! Her patterns are wonderful, right?!

The fabrics selected are these…

Yummy summer colors!

Yummy summer colors!

First test blocks came out great!

Happy success!

Happy success!

So now half-square triangles are nearing ready to go!

HST

120 white squares plus 120 colored squares…

means 240 HST need trimming!

means 240 HST’s need trimming! NOT my favorite part but right is right – trim and square ’em up!

I am looking forward to my first Kauai Quilt Guild meeting this coming Sunday afternoon! Not only will I start meeting more quilty types but will also have an opportunity to learn a new project- how to make fabric baskets. Here are my supplies…

Riley Blake

Riley Blake’s “Summer Breeze”…oh, so cute!

I’ll post pictures when I finish that! Can’t wait!

Mr G. and I have worked some more on the front yard flower bed. We purchased another palm and some bedding plants.

Areca palms and bedding plants

Areca palms and bedding plants

He also surprised me with a new hibiscus plant!

Hibiscus

Love that pink!

Thanks for stopping by and check back for more progress…summer ain’t over yet! ๐Ÿ™‚

Stay cool!

Aloha!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cagreenlee7
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 13:28:43

    Everything is looking good! I’m excited to see your fabric basket after you finish it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. sbrctag
    Aug 07, 2015 @ 14:37:29

    Thanks! I’m kind of excited to see how it works, too!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Hurricane, Hurricane…Go Away! | The Beachy Quilter
  4. Trackback: And the heat goes on… | The Beachy Quilter
  5. Trackback: Lovely fabric to calm the nerves… | The Beachy Quilter
  6. Trackback: Getting a few things done! | The Beachy Quilter
  7. Trackback: Hawaiian Fabric | The Beachy Quilter

Leave a Reply

