Lovely fabric to calm the nerves…

Good afternoon from Kauai! It’s been a rainy day so far but our Trade Winds are blowing so all is great! (That’s our air conditioning, ya know?!)

I am working on 3 projects at the same time (doesn’t every quilter?!…at a minimum?!)

I have the first one just about ready for binding…whoohoo! The binding strips are even pressed and ready to go! I mentioned it in this blog post.

The second one is for our new granddaughter due next month which is in the piecing stages. I am using the remnants of the first quilt so I am making sure I have enough of the binding fabric before I finish cutting the rest of the pieces for the baby quilt. I am using the same pattern as the first project but using 3-1/2″ rather than 4-1/2″ HST’s.

HST's trimmed and ready to be sewn into units!

HST’s trimmed and ready to be sewn into units!

A few weeks ago, my friend Pam asked if I would be interested in another joint venture. Several years ago we did this project together.

Scrappy Stacked Bricks

Scrappy Stacked Bricks

We both saw a post on Facebook with this quilt…

Scrap Quilt for 2015

Scrap Quilt project for 2015 – found on Pinterest by a quilter who posted it in Facebook.

The lady posting it did not know the original pattern or maker, but designed her own instructions and shared with the group. Pam had several Bali Pop sets and suggested we use them up! We selected four of the Bali Pops and she cut all the strips in half, trimmed them down to 2″ (see why she’s my friend!?!) and ordered enough Kona Snow for our background fabric! Thanks so much, Pam!! 🙂

UPDATE 9/24/15: I searched for the pattern again, with no luck, so I went back to the FB group to see if there had been any updates on her original post. Through the magic of the Internet (I presume), the lady had added this… “The original designer is Lois Olsen of Australia.”

Thanks for the information…I firmly believe in giving the designer credit for their creation!!

A few days later, I received the strips and the Kona Snow yardage and, upon her wise decision to cut the strips again in half, proceeded to cut mine as well. This will make them easier to chain piece as well as increase the scraptasticness (my blog…yea, that’s an awesome word, Spell Check!!) of our project!

Not the best photo but you get the idea...

Not the best photo but you get the idea…doesn’t everyone cut their fabric on the guest bed?

This is better...

This is better…a little brighter in the bedroom so now you can see our batik “scraps”!

DSC05327

Now to mix the strips…

Bali Pop

Strips cut to a manageable size and scrappy sorted…aren’t they awesome!!??

Add some Kona Snow...fabulous!!

Add some Kona Snow…this is going to be simply fabulous!!

Then tuck them in the grab bag…and get ready, get set, and go sew!!

Batik

Mixed up scrappy goodness!

I will start cutting the background tomorrow…this was a good start…it was relaxing just petting and admiring nearly every little strip!

Backing up a bit, just before I did these steps, I tripped the circuit breaker on the electrical panel to the “office” bedroom! That meant no computer, no lights, no fans…oh, my! Seriously!?!?

I COULD NOT get the power to come back on! I was sweating it…add in another hot flash moment, great!…we’ll have to call an electrician…Eddie was at a business meeting; he’s gonna get so mad…all I did was run the vacuum and catch the end of a curtain in the darn thing! So, then I had a couple of hours to wait for him to get back, thus the fabrics got my mind off that issue.

Thankfully, he came home…calmly listened to my frustration…stepped out in the garage and man-handled the breaker and voila! all the power came back! Boy, was I relieved!! He said it is kinda hard to reset it, which made me feel a bit better! I had tried SEVERAL times to get the power back on!

Anyway, all’s well that end’s well…even in paradise, these things happen!

I am going to go pet the fabric some more before I have to create some other kind of chaos! 😉

Aloha!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane Martyn
    Sep 23, 2015 @ 15:35:28

    Wow. That is going to be gorgeous. Maybe I will pull out my strips and my grunge winter white.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Judy Hutchens
    Sep 23, 2015 @ 16:15:36

    Are you willing to share the posting with the directions for the scrappy quilt?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • sbrctag
      Sep 24, 2015 @ 08:51:01

      Yes, Judy! The lady who shared it on FB (she posted in the Quiltville’s Open Studio group) said she couldn’t locate the original pattern or maker, so she figured it out herself. Let me make the first block to test the measurements and I will post it in a future blog…soon, I promise! Thanks for asking and for stopping by! Aloha!

      Like

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Getting Scrappy Again! | The Beachy Quilter

Leave a Reply

