Got driftwood?

Good Monday morning to you all! Thanks for stopping by!

I have been on Pinterest a lot lately…it’s a wonderful way to set the creative vibes humming, right?!

I have found a lot of great ideas for driftwood projects. Since we live on an island…we get to walk the beach and find little bits of inspiration along the sandy shores.

I wanted to make a monogram…so I found an MDF cut-out of the letter ‘G’, got the E6000 and some driftwood pieces…and voila!

DSC05454

Here is the back showing I even recycled a ring tab from a soup can! Not bad for my first piece of driftwood “art”!! πŸ™‚

DSC05452

Ready to hang!

Next up…a driftwood Christmas tree, of course! If you’ve read in my previous blogs, we sold most everything for our move to Kauai…including the holiday decorations!

Thanks to Pinterest, I found an example of a tree. I called my new friend, Emma and off we went to find sticks!

DSC05462.JPG

Sticks laid out according to size and holes drilled by Mr. G!

We went to Home Depot and purchased a 3′ threaded metal rod, some nuts and washers, textured sand spray paint and a round base. I painted the base, inserted the metal rod and stacked the “tree” limbs on the metal rod sitting on a bit of bamboo “trunk”!

DSC05445

DSC05448

Never mind all the pencil marks…Yes, we got the center spot right! πŸ˜‰

DSC05449

A bamboo trunk!

DSC05458

Pinterest Success!! πŸ™‚

DSC05459

Close up of our “topper” Au natural!

I’m still deciding what type of ornaments I want…minimal…natural…it may just be naked this year! *blush*

This project went together so well, we are going to try a beachy, painted one for the front lanai! Check back for that update soon!

I even tried to make a fish…this will take more practice and a more careful eye for just the right shape and texture. But this creativity is getting addictive!

DSC05464.JPG

Lastly, I wanted to make some mobiles, so with Mr. G helping with the drill, some coral chunks and more sticks…here it is!

DSC05456

Isn’t this some beachy goodness?!

These are great projects for rainy days…which is what winter is like on Kauai!

What are you making today!? Let me know!

Aloha!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane martyn
    Dec 21, 2015 @ 15:25:16

    Wow, I’m so impressed. I love them all. Merry Christmas!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. stitchinggrandma
    Dec 22, 2015 @ 02:58:17

    Very creative! I can envision “ocean related” tree ornaments. Shells, star fish, and dried beach grass for “garland”. It is beautiful in it’s simplicity as it is however. Love the mobile with the coral. Your willingness to find something and re-purpose it makes it all the more fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • sbrctag
      Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:59:44

      Thanks for stopping by and your nice compliments! Mr. G says I keep taking over more and more space in the garage! Must create…need more space! LOL

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

