#1 Amazing Blog to Share Today

I’ve enjoyed reading several blogs written by lots of interesting people over the last day or so mostly about New Year’s resolutions.

I found this one to be especially spot on. The fearless leader of The Badass Quilters Society spoke directly to me on this one!

#1 Amazing Trick to Becoming a Better Quilter

I have been thinking I might have wandered a bit from my “beachy quilter” moniker by adding in other things I like to do, but she has given my liberty to do so! I love lots of things besides quilting and, I believe, because of my interests in those things lets my mind grow and evolve which, in turn, lets my quilting interests grow and evolve as well.

If you are a new quilter, don’t be intimidated by complex designs or complicated patterns. We all start out as beginners…EVERY SINGLE ONE OF US! You will make mistakes and that’s ok…that’s how we learn. I am just now, after 25+ years of “quilting”, feeling I am ready to go in another direction. My new favorite colors and designs are a far leap from the simple 9-patch my Nanna taught me and she would be my biggest cheerleader in my new adventures.

I agree that looking at a LOT of Pinterest links (including Miss Badass’)will keep you from getting any quilting done, BUT the creativity of others is so inspiring! The hours I waste spend looking through the infinity of the Internet is GOOD for me! You can learn so much via YouTube videos and artists’ websites and books…these are generous people…they want to teach you, and for FREE for the most part! Buying a designer’s pattern or artist’s book is a very small price to pay for inspiration and instructions…they already made the mistakes for you! ๐Ÿ™‚

I was inspired by this photo…

Floating Prisms quilt pattern

Floating Prisms

…when I created this…

Paper pieced scrappy stars

“Freefalling” measures 61 x 74″

My pattern looks very little like the original design, and that’s how it is supposed to work! Take the idea of someone else and put your spin on it! Their pattern was diamonds…well, I like stars better (I wanted to practice more paper-piecing and those fabrics were in my stash!) See how that works?!

So, having said that, I am off to dream and think about the direction I want my quilts to go this year. Here are a few of my inspirations and ideas for the new year! You can see more on my Pinterest boards here.

Hoffman_1

From the Hoffman Challenge 2010

Texture

Can you say “TEXTURES”!?! Love this!

 

Skinny quilt

From the book “Skinny Quilts and Table Runners” by Eleanor Levie

Have to make

Are you seeing a pattern?! I think “water” must be my theme for this year! What else would you expect from a beachy quilter?! ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope you grow and stretch your creative endeavors in 2016!

Just do it!! Blaze a trail for yourself and let me know how it goes!

Aloha!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

