Get Creative with YouTube

In yesterday’s post, I mentioned the amazing world of YouTube videos…those FREE tutorials and helpful tips and tricks shared by awesome, talented people. I wanted to share some of my latest discoveries, in case you don’t have time to waste spend searching for inspiration for your next quilting project.

Creativity-Quote-Mary-Lou-Cook1

My newest “I have to try THAT” technique is thread painting. This isn’t really a NEW thing to me…a few years ago, while living in New Mexico, I met a most delightful lady, an artist named Pam Holland who does A-MAZING things with some special photographs she takes (among the plethora of other A-MAZING artwork she does!) I have blogged about her before here. I have been daydreaming, and thinking, and pondering, and putting off and had to get other things out of my UFO stash, about what Pam does as easily as she breathes and kisses her grandies. I used to think I couldn’t do anything close to what she does, BUT now I am ready to take a scary leap and give it a go!

I Am Pam Holland – get a nice, big cup of tea and savor her site for a good while

Pam has also been a contributor of videos for The Quilt Show. The Quilt Show has wonderful tutorials as well as introductions to textile artists from around the world! Oh, yea, you can spend A LOT OF TIME on this channel!

The Quilt Show via YouTube

I discovered this talented lady’s YouTube video thanks to Facebook. Marilyn Lee does amazing things in Landscape quilts and thread painting…even using up her SCRAP stash! A gal after my heart! She has a 6-part series on thread painting…on her TREADLE sewing machine, no less!

Marilyn Lee via YouTube – sit back and learn while beautiful music accompanies her teaching

Who doesn’t love Jenny Doan and Missouri Star Quilt Company?! If you want to learn ANYTHING about quilting, including short-cuts, tools, and help with fabrics, Jenny is the way to go! Gotta love that quacking duck sound at the end of her prelude music!

Missouri Star Quilt Company – be sure to sign up for her Daily Deals email

To be fair to the quilting guys in the crowd, Man Quilting is a great guy! He does more than quilts, so check out all the videos this talented man has to offer!

Man Quilting via YouTube

I could do this all day, but I gotta get busy being creative as well as the domestic diva duties taunting me from the rest of the house! I tell most anyone asking me “where do you come up with your ideas?” to check Google or YouTube. They are my go-to for quick information and tons of tips and tricks. You can also check out my (partial) list of favorite blogs on the right side bar.

So…what are going to do next? Go be inspired and then walk away from your computer so you can get those hands busy!

Happy Monday to you!

creative ways

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendi @ H2OBungalow
    Jan 09, 2016 @ 06:48:01

    Wow… I have never seen quilts with beach themes before! Your collection for inspiration is outstanding and so is your work..simply beautiful! XO-Wendi @ H2OBungalow

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • sbrctag
      Jan 09, 2016 @ 19:43:50

      Thanks Wendi! I am so thrilled you stopped by my blog! I am in awe of the things you have done and plan on spending a few…well, lots of time! learning a thing or two from you! Aloha!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

