Tuesday Tips & Tricks

Good afternoon from beautiful Kauai! I am sitting at my computer looking out the window admiring gorgeous blues skies with white fluffy clouds…wait…WHY am I inside?! šŸ˜¦

It is Tuesday, so on tap today are tips and tricks to (hopefully) help you with your quilting and crafting needs! Let’s get started…

I found this blog via a post on Facebook! Natalie Patton has some AWESOME tips so check our her blog, Quiltessa: Patchwork Palette, too! Do you need some templates? Well, look no further than your refrigerator! Recycling at its finest!

Milkjug templates

Re-use empty milk jugs

Another fun and cute way to tame the pesky threads on bobbins is this great tool!

Bobbinknobbins

Thread stays on either plastic or metal bobbins

IF you still have pantyhose or knee-highs, then this is a great tip to check if your sewing machine needle has a bad nick. You don’t want to be slowed down in the sewing fast lane with thread that keeps breaking or a snag in your beautiful fabrics because of a bad needle!

One quilter says I used these bad needles to hang pictures or quilts. Smaller holes in wall than nails and won’t hurt fabric in small quilts.” I have used them like this as well!!

Test your needle

Here is a wonderful up-cycle from Natalie for a weekly pill keeper into a needle keeper!

Needle keeper

Simply label with your favorite sizes!

Lastly, Natalie invented this awesome magnetic ring to hold her pins while she chain-pieces. Check our her YouTube video to see her use it!

Natalie Patton pin ring

A lovely AND useful tool, right?!!

Thanks for stopping by…but now I’m off. A breezy, sunny lanai is calling me!

Aloha!

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cheryljbrickey
    Jan 18, 2016 @ 11:37:09

    These are all such great tips, I had not ever heard of any of them. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply

    • sbrctag
      Jan 18, 2016 @ 13:13:35

      Thanks for stopping by! I am glad you discovered something new! I am looking forward to YOUR blog series on pattern writing! I hope you don’t mind me sharing it in my next post!? Mahalo! šŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

