Patience in Paradise

I mentioned in this post about some exciting things for me going into 2016. This morning, on my Facebook news feed, I saw this and it is perfect for the anticipation of those things to gel into place.

At the right time

I am also reminded of this post from last year regarding patience!

Yesterday, I went shopping for a new sewing machine and some other sewing related items! On a remote island, such as Kauai, there are definitely some issues which require patience – such as ordering and shipping logistics! I promise to keep you posted on that…I’ll know something soon!

Meanwhile, I am love working on some beachy driftwood projects. I made these with recycled jars (think pickle and salsa sized jars), jute, driftwood and coral. They will be good for corralling pens and markers, or perhaps holding flowers or candles! Oh, the possibilities!

I am experimenting with paint on the less than perfect coral pieces I find. A lot of the coral here is stained with rust since our island is mainly volcanic rock containing iron. I just thought moving from Oklahoma meant no more red dirt! Nope! 😦

IMG_7788

A bit of coral in its natural state

IMG_7789

Rusty coral I painted with acrylic paint! Nice!

And, of course, some beach glass I found made its way onto an up-cycled jar candle lid…

IMG_7793

Beach glass candle holder

Looking for just the right piece of driftwood, bit of glass or seashell requires patience as well. A flash of light, the sands shift…if you don’t look closely, the moment is gone and the sea takes her treasures back. But, sometimes, just at that right moment, the ocean waves retreat and there it is…in all its beachy goodness! Grab it quick! Wash it off and marvel at its simple beauty.

While I wait to get my new sewing machine, these collections are keeping me busy and down at the beach! It is also giving me some quiet time to think, plan and dream! Oh, the things I am dreaming of…*sigh!* 🙂

Have a wonderful Thursday! Thanks for stopping by!

Aloha!

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jean Ottosen
    Jan 21, 2016 @ 14:57:03

    What beautiful creations! So simple, yet elegant. And totally unavailable on the prairies. You are fortunate to live by the ocean. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • sbrctag
      Jan 21, 2016 @ 17:10:26

      Yes, Jean…these are definitely not available on the prairies! We are truly blessed to live by the ocean and wake up with gratitude every day. January in Hawaii is W-A-Y better than in Oklahoma!! Thanks for stopping by…I hope you’ll visit again!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Constant Checklists | The Beachy Quilter
  3. Kim Smyth
    Aug 30, 2016 @ 15:59:50

    Cute creations! I love em! I’m so jealous that you live in Hawaii! I have to settle for Texas beaches, but they make me happy when I’m there. Just got back from Port Aransas, after a six year absence. It was wonderful and I can’t wait until we get to be there forever. Lucky girl!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

