Let’s Write a Pattern Part. 5

Oops! I missed the Monday installment of pattern writing from Meadow Mist Designs! My only excuse is I have been binding two quilts to make ready for our Kauai Quilt Show next month! Today, a few of us were meeting at Vicky’s Fabric Shop to meet with a newspaper reporter to have a write up in The Garden Island paper. Some of the quilts were to be photographed and might be in the article. However, due to traffic (yes, the problem is real here in Kauai!) he could not make it to the quilt shop. *sigh*

So, now let’s get back on track…

Meadow Mist Designs

 

Ok…be forewarned…quilt math ahead!!

DSC04956

A. Quilt Block Fabric & Cutting Instructions – ok…I haven’t learned how to do the fancy pictures like Cheryl so, for now, here is what I came up: each of my stars are made up of a  3 x 3 unit. The center is (1) 3-1/2 x 3-1/2″ square in Fabric A and you need (4) 3-1/2×3-1/2″ squares in Fabric B. Using the Tri-Rec ruler, cut (8) 3-1/2″ skinny triangles (using the Recs Tool)(tm) in Fabric A and (4) 3-1/2″ wide triangles (using the Tri Tool)(tm) in Fabric B.

I will next calculate the total number of all the units needed to make 13 stars:

center squares (13), corner squares (52), skinny triangles (104) and wide triangles (52)

I’ll have to look at the top again to determine my setting triangles (since I chose to put my stars on point.)

I’ll have to figure the fabric requirements…another day! 😉

B. Border Fabric & Cutting Instruction –  My inner border will finish 1″ so we’ll cut 1-1/2″ strips from Fabric C. The border will be 4″ finished so we’ll cut 4-1/2″ strips from Fabric A. Again, I’ll figure those requirements…another day!

C. Yardage for the Quilt Top…yea, you guessed it…another day!

D. & E. Borders and Backing Fabric…well, as if I were that far! Ha!

F. Conclusion – there is a LOT of math involved in coming up with a pattern! Are you still in?!

I am…just not today! The binding was a successful two days…one quilt measures 50×50 and the other a whopping 87×100″…now I need wine! (I promise I’ll show them to you!)

My top is not difficult…really! I just have to figure out those cool charts…another day!

Aloha!

 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristin Schwichtenberg
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 14:48:50

    Hi Tracy, My Mom gave you my card and her home number, said you left a message for me. I don’t see anyway to e-mail you can you please send me an email at kleverlykauai@yahoo.com. Would like to chat about your ideas and see what we could do! Thanks Kristin Schwichtenberg

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

