Let’s Write a Pattern Part. 6

Aloha and welcome back! The pattern writing series is moving along this week and now we’re up to Part 6 – Computer Programs.

Meadow Mist Designs

If you decide to jump into the pattern writing task then the images needed for the pattern can be accomplished through various computer programs. For me, that is right up there with the quilt math in the sense that it “seems to be getting more complicated, now”, right?!

Fortunately, I have computer savy Mr. G who can help me. Plus, we have Adobe Illustrator already on our computer because of his own novel writing and creating his book covers.

I received EQ6 as a Christmas gift a few years back and tried to reinstall the program on my computer. It seemed to install fine yesterday, but when I tried to run the program today I got an error message and instructed to call Technical Support. It probably means I  “need” to upgrade to EQ7! *sigh* Guess who I’ll be on the phone with come Monday…it will be all right…come Monday…oh, yea…that song will torment me for the rest of the day! Ha!

I hope to learn these software programs a bit more soon so I can get my pattern finished!

I finally finished the binding on these two quilts! They are ready for the Kauai Quilt Show next month! Sweet granddaughter, Evelyn Grace, won’t get her quilt until April! It’s a good thing she is just a few months old and won’t hold it against me! 🙂

DSC05546.JPG

In the meanwhile, another big piece arrived for my new sewing space! I now have a cutting table!! With storage, too!! We went to a local furniture store for bedroom lamps and I saw this kitchen island. It already had a “Sold” sign on it…bummer! I asked about it anyway and the owner said it was technically on hold for a decorator’s client pending approval. I took down the measurements (69″L x 29″W x 35″H)  and told the store owner if the deal fell through I was interested. It would fit my space just fine!! Sure enough, the decorator’s client didn’t want it and I paid for it over the phone not even four days after seeing it!!

It is heavy!! It’s made of reclaimed wood and has a bluestone top! The drawers can be opened from either side (nice and big but I’ll have to get some sort of trays to organize the contents) and you can see I’ve started  determining the best way to use the open shelving!

DSC05558DSC05569

I have another big piece yet to arrive…once I have confirmation, I’ll share that news! I am so lucky Mr. G agreed to let me have the front living area for my sewing/quilting space!!

Next up is a design wall…any thoughts or suggestions?! Let me know!!

I also have been playing a bit with my new Viking Sapphire sewing machine! I am so happy to be able to learn machine applique – finally! My first attempt…a little Honu (turtle) for my seascape wall hanging! I’m almost ready to try out some free motion quilting, too! I’m hoping for a quiet day today to play!!

DSC05566

 

I think he’s a perfect Hawaiian touch!

Have a great Saturday!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Let’s Write a Pattern Part. 8 | The Beachy Quilter

Leave a Reply

