Let’s Write a Pattern Part. 7

Continuing on with the Monday installment (yea, I know, I know…a day late and a dollar short, but none the less…) of the pattern writing series from Meadow Mist Designs.

Meadow Mist Designs

This part is all about the details…whether in a photographed tutorial or illustrated for a print or social media type pattern…having images works the best when learning a new pattern.

A. Illustrations vs. Images – I think I will use illustrated images in the pattern text…as soon as I get that figured out! Yesterday, I didn’t get that Monday phone call to Electric Quilters for the technical support for EQ6 (hey, life happens, right?!)

Anyhow, I think a great photo of the finished quilt is a must. Illustrations for the pattern text is optimal for success.

B. What illustrations to include? – I think she covers that very well and I will try to do the same with my pattern. I especially like part 4 with suggestions for little extras to include. I usually try to use up the leftovers for a pieced and/or scrappy back…a photo of that might be of interest.

For my pattern, a bit of help using the Tri-Rec(tm) Ruler might be helpful…

TriRec1

C. Pattern Text – These all seem logical and I will include them in my pattern as well. I think the introduction notes is especially helpful for all the newer quilters. Material requirements is always good for those of us trying to use up stash (we are trying to do that, right?!)

I hope you have enjoyed this series…we are almost to the end!

I am not as far along as I had hoped to be…but I am determined to get my pattern written. Cheryl has taken a lot of time to do this and I appreciate it as well as her free pattern gift! It really isn’t that difficult to write the pattern…just a lot of details!

On a productive note, I (finally) finished the Row by Row I started last summer! I am learning applique and quilting on my new machine!  This wall hanging finished at 35″L x 9-1/2″ H.

I also learned a new tip for the hanging “sleeve”…check back tomorrow and I’ll show you what I did!

DSC05574

Have a great week!

Aloha!

Leave a Reply

