Let’s Write a Pattern Part. 9

Cheryl at Meadow Mist Designs is clicking right along with her blog series and we (well…, SHE) is up to publishing a pattern!

Meadow Mist Designs

 

Digital vs. Printed Quilt Patterns – for my first pattern, I will use a digital format that can be downloaded. I like the economics of the digital version…no paper, envelopes or postage expense and most everyone is comfortable with downloading a PDF document these days. Of course, I wouldn’t mind printing off a copy and mailing it but the buyer would have to pay a nominal amount to cover the postage.

I have another quilt pattern I designed, so we’ll see what the future holds for me. I had best be getting this first one DONE!

I hope to have it ready by this summer (I have a LOT going on in the next few months and Mr. G is right in the heat of tax season…this is the 30th season for him!!) and will offer it on this blog AND…my new online store!!! I’ll let you know when it is stocked and ready to go…soon!

Here is a bit of an update on the vacant lot across the street from us. Mr. G has worked really hard to make our view from the front lanai much nicer!

Here is a before photo and how it all started on this post…overgrown weeds, up to three abandoned cars at any given moment, rodents, well, you get the idea!

Before lot mowed 082015

and now…

DSC05590.JPG

Mr. G in the final corner of the lot

DSC05595.JPG

Papaya we can now easily pick in the back corner…

DSC05596.JPG

or banana plants with fruit in the opposite corner!

DSC05591

Debris pile

We can now see this lovely bougainvillea bush from the neighbor’s backyard directly behind the vacant lot! This is a close up…you can see how we see it in the photo above…it is behind Mr. G.

DSC05592.JPG

AND…finally, the house with the white fence has been purchased!

Car towed away

Look behind the speed limit sign…this was before…do you even see a house in there?!

For the last 2 weeks, a tree service company has been hacking their way through the jungle. Sadly, a lot of the trees had to be cut down because they were taking over!! It looks so much nicer now!

DSC05598.JPG

We even have another peek-a-boo view of the mountains behind it! I tried to get a photo of that but it is too hazy today. On a clear day, we will be able to see it…just above the window and through the tree limbs…I know, I know…I’m not a professional photographer…but I promise it is there!! 🙂

We hope to bring down that African Tulip tree in our yard in a couple of months…those orange blossoms are constant! But our view is SO much better!!

DSC05599.JPG

Lastly, a few of our hibiscus blooms to brighten your day!

I hope you have enjoyed seeing our little corner of paradise grow more lovely each month! It’s hard to believe we have been here for 10 months but the neighbors seem to be happy with what we have accomplished…one day at a time!

Aloha!

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cagreenlee7
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 17:10:42

    Everything looks great!! I can’t wait for the day when we get to bring Evelyn to visit!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Tracy
      Mar 08, 2016 @ 10:04:12

      We can’t wait to have you visit! Watching Evelyn grow so far away is really tough, but thankfully Skype let’s us keep up with her…and her new puppy!! Hugs from Gigi!

      Like

      Reply

  2. Chris Sass
    Mar 08, 2016 @ 05:11:54

    Tracy – I’d like to talk to you. I have been wanting to move to Kauai for a long time. Been there about 7 times, most recently in Jan of 2015. I can’t find an email or phone for you. I own quiltfabric.com and you can email me directly at cbsass@aol.com or call the store number that you will find on our website. Please!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. ewgreenlee
    Mar 08, 2016 @ 17:09:11

    Now I get to tackle the rim and clear us a view.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Tracy
      Mar 08, 2016 @ 20:20:05

      And what a view we will have with the bonus of hearing the Waiua River below us…ahhh! our own little bit of paradise! All my love to you!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

