Let’s Write a Pattern Part. 10

Today we’re wrapping up the blog series from Meadow Mist Designs. The series has been so informative and I really appreciate Cheryl and her guest designers taking the time to write about their experience in quilt design and pattern writing!

As always, click on the blue logo to go to the original posts!

Meadow Mist Designs

What did I learn? The main thing I took away from the series is we are all creative and to not be afraid to jump out of our comfort zone to discover something new.

I can tweak a pattern all day long…but, creating my own design and then actually writing it down for someone else to make was kind of daunting. I have the EQ6 software as well as some experience with Adobe software but never made time to really jump in and use it. This series was just the little push I needed to get busy and learn it!!

As promised, I tried to get a good picture of my latest finish…”Beach Glass” but yesterday was gray and cloudy while today has been much the same. None the less, here it is! The colors are more soft than this photo shows. I hope to get a better picture soon!

BeachGlass1

Mr. G had to stretch on this one! It measures 60 x 80″. We are in discussions on a better design wall AND easier ways to hang and/or display quilts for photographing. Stay tuned…

BeachGlass3

Close up of quilting

I also have been working on some small projects…seascape wall hangings. What do you think of these?

DSC05613.JPG

DSC05612

I’m still learning little tricks of machine applique using my open-toe attachment and some free-motion quilting…I think I’m getting the hang of it! I even tried a bit of sand writing…can you see it? 🙂

Again, a better design wall, photography setup and more daylight will make these much better.

I’m outta here…I need to do more research and practice!!

Have a great week! Aloha!

 

Leave a Reply

