Kona Color of the Year in Kauai

If you love yellow…well, hello-o-o YELLOW! As a former bookkeeper, I have seen plenty of highlighter colors in my career! Yellow was the only option for many years. They usually start out super bright but, over time and use, become a soft pale lemon before you hear the sound of dry felt as it smudges across the page. For the record, I am not a fan of yellow. I know, I know…“but you live where the sun shines so much of the time, beachy girl!”

Yes, I like sunshine, but yellow just isn’t my favorite color. Now you want to talk turquoise and coral, then I am all in! However, yellow is an essential color in so many ways, right?!

Robert Kaufman fabrics’ color of the year for 2016 is Highlight! It may not be for you, you may not even like yellow or you can’t imagine how to use this nearly neon color. But, look at this trunk show now at Vicky’s Fabric Shop right here in Kauai! Click on her Facebook link to see them being hung in her shop!

If you remember this post, I mentioned the trunk show of the 30 Years, 30 Quilts from Robert Kaufman using Kona solids made two stops on our little island in the middle of a gigantic ocean with 10 different quilts. The third set of quilts was to be here as well but the Color of the Year collection came instead!

20160319_093558

“Trip the Light” by Heather Jones

20160319_093620

“Blake” by Carolyn Friedlander

20160319_093629

“Lemon Stars” by Darlene Zimmerman

20160319_093639

“Highlighter Rocks with Sunflowers & Lemons” by Valori Wells

20160319_093649

“Field Day’ by Robert Kaufman Co.

20160319_093701

“I Heart Gingham” by Elizabeth Hartman

So…are you inspired by any of these quilts? I like the stars quilt, of course, but I also like Heather Jones’ quilt. I may just have to get out an old yellow highlighter and think up something to make!

Are you ready to step out of your quilting comfort zone and try Highlight? I’d love to see what you create!

The quilts will be on display through March 30. I hope you have an opportunity to see them in person!

Have a blessed Sunday!

P.S.  I just returned from working my shift at the quilt show. I was “working” in the White Elephant Sale area so I had some time to browse through the donated magazines for sale. Look what I found!

20160320_135339IMG_20160320_130852.jpg

These are more traditional quilts and the yellow works great!

Modern or traditional…give Highlight a try!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy Robbins Defatta
    Mar 20, 2016 @ 11:48:20

    Oh I love the yellow! The designs too are fabulous. Thank you for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Tracy
      Mar 20, 2016 @ 14:59:05

      Thank you for stopping by…and I am happy you love the yellow! I was working at the quilt show today (“working” meaning looking at the quilt magazines for sale…ahem!) and I came across 2 more quilts using yellow. I will post those pictures as well…I hope you have a moment to come back and check them out! Aloha!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

