Hello, April! We are looking forward to a wonderful Spring!

I finished the top I mentioned in this post that I started last week! I sent this photo out to the Facebook quilting group Just Us Quilters for the vote…borders? Yay or Nay?

DSC05635

With an overwhelming 150+ likes and comments, the Yay’s won the day!! I had suggestions for borders including a solid or single fabric from the scraps, a piano key style border to just a white border and binding.

I thought the piano key style was too busy (plus I didn’t have enough variety of fabrics left to make that work AND I was a bit tired of chain piecing scraps by this point!) I usually lean towards an inner border to make the blocks appear to float so that was a given. I had enough scraps to do a scrappy border so I decided on this one!

Scrap quilt top 032916

I think it turned out so beachy and cute!! I used a border technique (again…busting those scraps!) that I used in this scrap quilt, too! I like the corners wrapping around to the next section of the border.

Ahem…can you see the fabrics that are in BOTH of these quilts?! From here on, I pinky swear to only purchase the amount of fabric needed for one project…I will try not to purchase what’s left on the bolt…um, yea…good luck with that, right?! 😉

What are you doing to bust your stash of scraps!? I am using up the last bits of this stuff as pieced backs and small kid quilts to donate to our guild’s community service.

I am ready to move on to something new…hmmm, what might that be?!

Have a great weekend!

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb
    Apr 01, 2016 @ 22:01:27

    Gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

