Getting the Hang of E2E

So far this week, I have managed to quilt something or learn something (if not BOTH!) every day on the Statler!

When I am not doing either of those things, I am thinking about quilting or learning something on the Statler!

Not only am I figuring out the mechanical side of The Lady, I am learning the technical side of her. Computers “think” a certain way, machines “work” a certain way…and I think and work a certain way. I just have to remember to think and work like they do…not necessarily the way I think they should think and work. Get it?!

Yes, it sometimes makes my head hurt! 😉

But I am getting the hang of it. E2E is short speak for “edge-to-edge” or specifically, in quilting lingo, a pattern that goes from the left edge to the right edge of the quilt. It is a continuous line of quilting.

Like this…

E2E sample

The design is duplicated the length of the quilt and you have an “all over” design. It usually appears to have no beginning or ending.

This is the result of my practice this week…5 donation quilts ready for the binding!

DSC05749

Of course, there are some mistakes. Of course, these are not my best. That is yet to come. I haven’t quilted on a long arm since 2010 so I am a bit rusty and technology has changed on the Statler.

But, this has been a good week none the less! The first four quilts were about 38″ square. The last one was 42 x 62 and was made with Hawaiian scrap fabrics! I like how it turned out!

DSC05750

Close up of quilting E2E…

DSC05752

DSC05751

Now to watch some more tutorials and make some notes on what I’ve learned so far. I have a long way to go!

Aloha!

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb
    Apr 15, 2016 @ 02:48:24

    Very much a learning process Tracy! And you are definitely the woman up for the task! I love how the Hawaiian donation quilt turned out!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Melanie McNeil
    Apr 16, 2016 @ 16:04:39

    Great work, and yes, so good to practice while doing something valuable, finishing donation quilts. I don’t have a computerized set-up with my longarm. If I were planning to do customer quilts, that would be an important investment. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

