Practice Makes It Better

April is flying by and I realized I had not written a post in over a week! But what a productive week it has been!

I have been trying to learn something new on the Gammill each day as well as quilting something. The donation quilts for the guild have been very helpful to practice the basics – loading the backing, floating the batting and top as well as numerous stops and starts and dealing with the bobbin when it runs out of thread!

Here is a donation quilt border…I was trying a leaf pattern…I thought I didn’t need to baste the top…the Statler let me know otherwise! Ahem! That slight crease on the left was actually folded and stitched in a lovely puckered mess. Slowly, tediously, it had to be unsewn!

IMG_20160421_160649

None the less, I kept going and got a different border selection. It would have to do for this round.

I next experimented with a scrappy baby top of my own.

20160321_092440

This went much better…I think I will work on borders another day! I love these E2E bubbles and thought they were perfect for this top…

IMG_20160421_084313

…and very well with the backing fabric!

20160421_085105

I finished my grandson, Beckett’s quilt top and I’ll show it to you tomorrow! I love how I was able to salvage a cement truck for the label. I cut is too small to use in the top…

20160425_153154.jpg

I’ll have the binding finished on this today! I received more donation quilts from the guild so I’ll be busy…practicing!!

Aloha!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Texas Quilting
    Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:56:00

    The quilting looks fantastic!

    Like

    Reply

  2. artisticsharon
    Apr 26, 2016 @ 13:43:53

    Oh! those E2E bubbles are just perfect!! and I love that dump truck label 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

