Some more quilting practice

Monday is here again and the week is starting out with more soft rain and then plenty of sunshine! I hope you are enjoying graduations and time with your family!

I loved showing my mother the Gammill while she was here! I even showed her how to load a quilt top and thread the machine as well as getting her input on the next charity quilt designs! (I’m pretty sure that’s one reason she wants to visit us again next year! *wink*)

This top had machine applique and decorative stitches…and was kinda stretched in places so there were a few challenges to make it lay nice and flat. There was also a flanged inner border treatment.

DSC05794

Overall, I like how it turned out!

DSC05795

I still need to study more (practice) on connecting the side borders…*sigh* Bobbin tension still needs a bit of tweaking as well.

DSC05796

I have finished these as well!

DSC05799

I even managed to get the binding on this particular quilt!

DSC05800

I like that I can test out different E2E designs to get the general idea of how they stitch out! Sorry this one didn’t photograph well…it was a cloudy day and I used a natural color for thread.

DSC05797DSC05798

This last top was great for practicing individual block designs as well as that tricky border! I chose to do the same design in both the inner and outer borders…I almost nailed it! 🙂

The bottom row had a “block” that was not a panel so I stitched a frame for it to make it look more balanced. I wish (now) that I had made it a bit more defined. What do you think?

DSC05790

Pre-printed does not mean STRAIGHT! Stitch in the ditch went astray just a bit! But…look at those hearts and flowers! So happy, right?!

DSC05791

My tension is just about right…the back looks great! No loops or pokies! 🙂

DSC05792

I will admit I was pretty jazzed that my corner hearts came out spot-on! They go well with the hearts in the block designs!

DSC05793

I hope to have a couple more quilted this week! I’ll deliver these at our meeting on Sunday!

Fingers crossed! Happy stitching!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb
    May 24, 2016 @ 01:11:42

    Wow! Tracy, you are getting so much practice with the donation quilts. They look lovely. And when the LOVE and energy transfers to the recipient, the individual will feel so special!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Tracy
      May 24, 2016 @ 11:18:18

      Thanks, Deb! I will admit to some not so lovely quilting moments (darn learning curve!) I only hope some of the frustrated energy doesn’t transfer, too! 😉

      Like

      Reply

  2. Trackback: New Items in the Store | The Beachy Quilter

Leave a Reply

