Get some cool A/C going!

Last summer was brutal! Yep, more than tropical hot in paradise…even the locals and long-time islanders confirmed it. We in Hawaii rely on the trade winds to keep us cool and they were no-shows last year. I griped about mentioned it here.

So, thankfully the guys from Kauai Air Conditioning showed up today to help us out before this summer gets going in high gear!

We had “heat events” last summer that shut down our computers. You know it’s bad when the room the computer is in is too hot for the delicate mystery circuits, wires and such inside those black boxes with green lights and they just shut down.

Now that I have the Statler, it is even more important that the heat not turn The Lady into an angry “I’m not going to work in these conditions” diva! 😉

These will help remove some of the humidity as well…another good idea around electronics, right?!

DSC05803

The other living area is getting some relief as well…

DSC05804

Hopefully, they will be running tomorrow!

I finished another charity quilt top and STILL can’t get those pesky borders right! 😦

This corner came out nearly spot on but the sides…we won’t talk about those, ok? I will quietly watch that tutorial one more time (or two or three!) I am close but not for my picky standards!

Perhaps I should pick an easier pattern? Well, I don’t KNOW it’s a hard one until I jump in with both clumsy feet! I am not giving up that easily! Stay tuned!

DSC05801

I enjoyed selecting the pinwheels and the inner border designs – I really like how they turned out! What do you think? I like the way the Omni thread in Purple Hyacinth blended nicely but gave it some pop on the orange fabric!

DSC05802

After struggling with this top, I needed a bit of a break so I did an edge to edge design on the scrap quilt shown above draped on the long-arm table. It is ready to be trimmed.

I plan on watching more tutorials today and working on some technical issues on the blog. Then I am going to have to tackle some bookkeeping…yea, I know…such a glamorous life.

Thank goodness for the upcoming cool air to keep me focused…but I want to get back to quilting something – soon!!

Have a great day!

Aloha!

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane Martyn
    May 24, 2016 @ 17:05:47

    I have that same AC unit in my studio. Love it. Love your quilting. I end up piecing and not using my long arm. Have to get cracking on that!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Tracy
      May 25, 2016 @ 08:12:49

      It is supposed to be a great product…one of our neighbors had one installed last year. We can’t wait to get a good night’s sleep, too…sticky, hot nights are not great! I’d love to see what you quilt on your machine! (Nudge, nudge!) 😉

      Like

      Reply

  2. Yoka Bazilewich
    May 25, 2016 @ 02:20:51

    Hi Tracy, Love your quilt and the quilting you did looks fantastic. Hope you will have a cooler summer this year. I hibernate also in the heat here in NE Florida even the breeze from the ocean is no help. We get up early and walk our Dog who also does not like the heat. Hope this year to finish some of my UFO quilts. Stay cool and happy Quilting. Yoka

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Tracy
      May 25, 2016 @ 08:15:03

      Thanks Yoka! I appreciate you stopping by! Florida was our second choice (love those emerald waters!) and humidity was the factor in both states. I’d love to see your quilts! Have fun tackling those UFO quilts…the sooner done, the sooner another can start! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  3. cagreenlee7
    May 25, 2016 @ 21:10:11

    I think the quilting looks great but I have a feeling you positioned it just so in your picture that you can’t see the areas that you are struggling with. I agree the purple thread looks great against the orange and blends well with the floral print too. ❤️😄

    Like

    Reply

    • Tracy
      May 26, 2016 @ 10:42:27

      If you re-read the post, I said we weren’t going to talk about that! 😉
      It was just about 4 inches of the border I wasn’t please with…the rest looked pretty good. Thankfully, it is a donation quilt and the pattern is busy so the recipient will still be warm! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

