Challenge Met!

As a new long arm quilter, practice is a must. Thankfully, I have several charity quilts to learn techniques as well as the machine itself.

I have a new quilting friend on island who wanted her tops quilted and was willing to be my first customer! Thank you, thank you, thank you Deb!!

I have now quilted four things for her. The latest was a set – a twin size quilt and a matching valance.

Here it is in the early stages…the valance on the left and the quilt on the right! Aren’t her Hawaiian fabrics beautiful?!

She posted the finished quilts on her Facebook page! Thanks Deb!

Deb quilt 1

She also made this quilt for a lucky little girl in her family…what little girl wouldn’t want to dream and wish under this quilt?!

Deb quilt 2

She wanted an edge-to-edge design and selected this butterfly pattern designed by my mentor, Rita Galaska! Isn’t it sweet!?

Deb quilt 3

Just as I finished these, I had another quilting friend on island refer a visitor to me. She lives in Washington but was here for several weeks. She made a quilt ultimately for her husband. The catch? She was leaving in less than a week!

Challenge accepted! It took a bit longer than I thought it would (lesson learned!) but I met her deadline and delivered it a few hours before she had to leave for the airport! These are not the best photos, but I think you get the idea! That’s a LOT of leaves and limbs to work around!!

Tree1

The quilt measures 35 x 54 inches…here is a bit of a close up. She zig-zag appliqued around the tree and leaves…I added the texture and swirls in the background.

Tree3

Her backing fabric was a gorgeous black batik…

DSC05835

Thank you Sandy P. from Washington for letting me quilt your beautiful tree!

I’m off now to add two new items to my online store! I hope you check it out!

Aloha for now!

Save

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb
    Jun 20, 2016 @ 21:03:11

    I will bet Sandy is going to continue quilting after seeing that lovely tree that you enhanced! Great work from each of you. Sandy, I hope to see some more art quilts that you share with Tracy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

