Hawaiian Fabric

We have lived in Hawaii for just over a year…ya know, that’s PLENTY of time for at least one of my new quilting friends to share that Hilo Hattie’s sells fabric. But I only found out last month!

For those who don’t know, Hilo Hattie’s has been around a long time. We visited the store on Oahu back in 1986. The shop sells clothing, primarily muumuu’s and Aloha shirts that match. They also sell some t-shirts and kid clothes and souvenirs.

When a generous quilter made these quilt tops, she shared where she purchased the tropical squares…yep, Hilo Hatties! I posted how I quilted this donation quilt and others here.

DSC05858

Little did I know, at the end of production, they cut up excess fabric and sell it like this…

13557901_1627187757572370_2466671091013938041_n

These packs of 7-inch squares are very inexpensive.  There are approximately 90 squares per pack! Wow!!

Sounds like a quilter’s best Hawaiian dream, right?! What’s the catch? Well, they don’t always have them and the selection is limited. You can’t open the pack to see what all is inside, either.

None the less, my friend Deb and I ventured in yesterday and the store had just received a shipment! We snagged a few packs and I am starting with this set…

13532893_1627393974218415_1954286798957560108_n

This group was included in the pink pack in the upper left of the previous photo. The Kona Snow strips work beautifully with it! Another Falling Charm quilt, here we go!!

I quilted this beautiful batik quilt for Deb and I’ll post a better photo when she gets the binding on. She loved it! The sea shell pattern worked beautifully!

Debs shell quilt

I finished up two baby quilt tops to practice…I really am trying to use up the last of this collection of scraps! I just used random sizes of square-ish pieces that I framed in Kona White and threw in a few random opposite white squares framed in color. No pattern – I just kinda made it up as I went then squared it up enough make the rows even. I want to try out a Modern quilting design on the squares.

DSC05866

I had one orphan block from this quilt project, so I framed it again and again…

DSC05867

…and I plan to practice some border applications on this one. Both of these are about 36 inches square.

June has been crazy busy and July looks to be the same. Next week is the Jenny Doan and Indulge Retreat!! I can’t wait to meet her! Wait until I show you the fabrics for the quilts she is going to teach! Can you say “tropical brights”!?

Then we will have company coming to visit!! Two different couples will be here in July! I can’t wait to see our friends…it’s hard to believe it’s been a year since we’ve seen them.

Oh, and new wood flooring to be installed and garage door to be replaced. Mr. G will be clearing more of the rim view and  planting more things. I hope you’ll check back to see what else we have on the list!!

Aloha!

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cagreenlee7
    Jun 30, 2016 @ 17:44:57

    I love the scrappy squares quilt top!! I could see you making that into a pattern and selling it! So cute, makes me think of Dr. Seuss with his wonky shapes.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Tracy
      Jul 01, 2016 @ 07:36:07

      Here is the pattern…take random squares of fabric and sew random widths of white to frame. Aim for the finished blocks to be about the same size. Trim to make an even row of joined blocks. Make as many blocks/rows as desired. Stand back and admire then quilt as you please! That’s pretty much it! 😊

      Like

      Reply

  2. Jimmy
    Jul 11, 2016 @ 02:59:00

    My programmer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on several websites for about a year
    and am concerned about switching to another platform. I have heard
    good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all
    my wordpress content into it? Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated! http://Www.Yahoo.net/

    Like

    Reply

  3. Trackback: A Lovely Quilt | The Beachy Quilter

Leave a Reply

