Recovering from a Retreat

Aloha to everyone! Thanks for stopping by! I hope your July 4th was spectacular!

I am recovering from a quilting retreat…wait…a FABULOUS quilting retreat! Three full days of sewing, laughter and memories, brunches and dinners of good food (anytime someone else cooks, it’s good, right?!), entertainment and best of all…a gracious teacher giving us her tips and tricks and personal stories. We were definitely indulged!

We started last Wednesday with a Meet ‘n Greet with Jenny Doan from Missouri Star Quilt Co. Our hostesses were Susan and Rita of Indulge Retreats and the retreat was held at Kauai Beach Resort. Our goody bag was filled with wonderfully indulgent things like Godiva chocolate, sunscreen, sunglasses, a water bottle and beach towel!

20160706_190144_001

IMG_20160707_080403IMG_20160707_085509

Day One – a mini tutorial for the Disappearing Hourglass pattern. Depending on the way the block is turned, you can choose from a couple of options.

DSC05877DSC05878

I chose the second option and with these fabrics…a productive first day! The “hourglass” blocks on the right are ready to be cut and sewn into stars!

DSC05884

Here are a few photos of our space and attendees!

DSC05879DSC05880DSC05881

Maile from Vicky’s Fabrics had a corner space for her pop up shop! She also gave quick tutorials for Sashiko and Furoshiki tying. So convenient for those who “needed” something for their project(s)! πŸ˜‰

DSC05883

Day Two – Jenny’s mini tutorial for today is “Jump Rings”.

DSC05890

And here is my production for this pattern! In a day, several of these can be made!

DSC05902

Treats were left on our sewing machines every day! Chocolate is always good at retreats!

Jenny is always gracious for a photo op…I brought in a top I had recently made using her pattern “Falling Charms” and snapped a picture with her!

DSC05889

She was always available for questions and even whistled and sang on occasion during her own sewing time!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We also had a bit of entertainment…a blast from the past…our hostesses bringing back Johnny Carson and Ed McMahon performing as Carmac the Magnificent!

20160708_180558

Day Three – our tutorial for today is “Chopped Block”. I was not too fond of this particular pattern based on the photo in the book. Jenny assured me it was the fabric choice in the sample. She showed us the class sample and it was a definite improvement. Remember, fabrics can make or break a pattern.

DSC05904

Here is a sampling of what I accomplished for that day…I had made more but I guess I forgot to take the picture to prove it! :/

IMG_20160709_133813

Here is what some of the other ladies accomplished. I wish I had taken more photos…some of the designs are going to end in fabulous finishes!

DSC05891DSC05914DSC05893

We ended the day with a working trunk show by Jenny…as well as more photo ops and book signings. Jenny’s “entourage” is her husband…yep, that’s it. He held up the quilts, helped her recall how fabrics were supposed to be laid out when she got ahead of herself and took lots of photos for us! A big hug to him!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sadly, Day Four – a fast tutorial on “Tag Team”…and my pictures didn’t come out well. None the less, I managed to get a few blocks made before we had to pack up our things. You can see Maile’s quilt in her “shop” photo above.

IMG_20160710_093315

Our final brunch and lots of thank you’s for a great time! We ended in a large circle singing (or attempting!) to sing a Hawaiian song of blessing.

DSC05917DSC05916DSC05921

Lastly, our group photos with the lovely back drop that is Kauai!

IMG_3146

IMG_3152

The Hawaii Representatives!

 

20160710_111659

The Kauai representatives!

20160710_110815

Jenny’s dazzling smile is contagious!

DSC05922

I like to think Jenny and Ron might frame this one!

Thank you Jenny, Ron and to the Indulge Retreat ladies, Susan and Rita, for a wonderful few days! I know I speak for the entire group…we hope you come back again some day!

Aloha and happy sewing!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb
    Jul 11, 2016 @ 21:19:41

    I enjoyed the trunk show and after reading your fantastic recall, I want to do a retreat, TOO! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Tracy
      Jul 12, 2016 @ 09:35:04

      Retreats are very special to me! I meet new people that share my joy in quilting, learn something new EVERY time I go, and make lasting friendships! Having a guest teacher is always the BEST! I encourage everyone to splurge and attend at least one retreat a year, if possible. 😊

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

