Going a Mile a Minute…

I LOVE using up scraps (‘cuz I am NOT moving them to Hawaii!) and the Mile a Minute is a go-to for using up LOTS of scraps from buying way too much fabric left over from other projects!

Here is one I have made with batiks…

"Fruit Punch" - Summer, 2014

“Fruit Punch” – Summer, 2014

My quilting friend, Rita showed me how to do this technique. Here is a great tutorial from Inch by Inch Quilting if you would like to do some stash busting, too! Disclaimer: This technique can be habit forming!

I also like this tutorial from Patchwork Pie. I may have to try cutting my blocks wonky this time just to try something different! There will be scraps from this so I can make a test block to see how I like it!

(I know, I know…the idea is to use up scraps, not make more but at least more will go out of the scrap bin than will come back in!)

So I previously showed you the beginnings of these here

About midway through block assembly!

About midway through block assembly!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You want to know what to do with the trimmings after your quilt is quilted? Use up those strips like I did!

This was trimmed from a quilt after it was quilted. Perfect strip for Mile-A-Minute !

This was trimmed from a quilt after it was quilted. Perfect strip for Mile-A-Minute !

 

The quilting extended past the quilt top on one side so I trimmed that away.

The quilting extended past the quilt top on one side so I trimmed that away.

Let’s get this going…

Strips ready to go...

Strips and pieces ready to go…

Great! More scraps at the end of some strips...

Great! More scraps at the end of some strips…*sigh*

DSC05020

Each block “grows” a little differently…some will be square-ish…

DSC05019

…some will be rectangle-ish…

Next, I will even up the right side of each of these…remember, this goes fast, so no measuring right now! You only have to even up one side as you go..zoom, zoom!

DSC05021

…just so I have a straight line for the next “log”

The end result will be a block a bit larger than the desired size…

A bit of tape to mark my 9-1/2" ruler for an 8-3/4" block...

A bit of tape to mark my 9-1/2″ ruler for an 8-3/4″ block…

...and there ya go! I present you a "Mile-A-Minute" block!

…and there ya go! I present you a “Mile-A-Minute” block!

I usually aim for a block measuring at least 8-1/2″ unfinished, but if I can get a bit more out of it, I go with it! Mine were growing generously and I was able to get almost 9″ square but not quite. So 8-3/4″ will work just fine! I grant you permission to make these any size you want! (You are welcome!) *wink*

Check back in a day or so for these scrappy beauties will be going up on the design wall!

Leave a comment with your favorite stash busting quilt design!

Have a scrap-tastic day!!

Quilts vs clean house

 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. STEPHANIE
    Feb 21, 2016 @ 03:10:00

    I am stealing your numbered safety pins idea…..it’s brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment